• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tripod minefield (1 Viewer)

Johnno65

Hi,
Would appreciate some help on tripod and head selection, I am a relative newbie
At bird photography but getting out every moment I get between work. My kit is a canon 60d with a sigma 70-300, I have very quickly realised that I need more mm's to get the kind of shots I would be happy with and have my eye on a 150-500 sigma. Although I am getting some reasonable pics handheld I realise I need more stability to get sharper pics so a tripod and head is required for BIF in particular. Budget is an issue to a degree so mid range or second hand suggestions will be appreciated .

Johno

I strongly suggest that you get the very best tripod that you can afford. Unfortunately the really nice ones are silly money these days!
I am quite happy to buy used gear, for example I picked up a good condition Gitzo carbon 1329 Mk2 + carbon center column for 100 quid, however a friend of mine picked up a mint Feisol 3342 and a near mint Gitzo 1329? Mk2 mountaineer tripod for 100 quid each! Going secondhand will allow you to buy much better equipment which will serve you well for a long time to come.
As to tripod heads, for wildlife, I prefer a Gimbal type head. Have a look at the Lensmaster RH1 head. It is perfectly adequate for my 300 F2.8 + camera (around 4 kilos) and VERY reasonably priced.

Benro 500EX works great for me! Also consider the Manfrotto 293 carbon fiber tripod. Both should be adequate for a Sigma 150-500mm lens to a max size of a Canon 300mm 2.8 II lens. Not adequate for anything bigger than that though.