• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Celestron C90 Mak - any advice? (1 Viewer)

mba007

Hi folks,

I've been deliberating whether to get hold of a Celestron C90 Mak for birding purposes, and was wondering whether anyone has first-hand experience of the scope.

I confess that I'm an amateur (and pro) astronomer with a Televue Pronto, but it is too damn heavy to cart around over hill and dale.

One thing that is driving me nuts is that you can buy it in the states for ~$180, and in the UK for £199, but apparently vendors are not allowed to ship to the UK. I'm assuming that Celestron are controlling the market and effectively costing me £100 <-- that's what is driving me nuts!

Thanks in advance :t:,

Martin

I have a Celestron C-90 scope. Mine is at least 7-8 years old, so maybe in the interim there have been changes made, but I find it too bulky, much too clumsy to use, and too heavy for lugging around in the field. It is also hard to focus since you turn the whole barel to focus it, which is too wide for my hand to grasp easily.

However, the view through it is excellent.. clear and detailed with true colors, and bright. Mine is on a tripod and I tend to use it at home, only, and then not very often. I have other scoes I like using much better...

KOWA 824 (82mm) and KOWA 884 (88mm) both straight-body scopes, each with a KOWA 20x-60x Zoom Eyepiece. 824 is polycarbonate body .. and 884 is metal , magnesium alloy body, so 824 is lighter. 884 also has both Coarse AND Fine Focus knobs which is a huge plus (to me). Both are Fluorite.