• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Another one for the experts?????? (1 Viewer)

Paulyoly

Shot this today, as you can tell i am no expert, taken in my backyard in the middle of Florida. The bird didn't stop much, bounced from limb to limb in the tree tops. It appears to have a very orange chin.

Attachments

• unknownbird3.jpg
    unknownbird3.jpg
    85.8 KB · Views: 464
hi Paul- the profile, plumage & white eye ring seem to fit the gizz of an American Robin, member of the thrush family. They bounce around those treetops pretty well :)

I thought that as well, but the bird seemed to small to be a robin. I thought it was no bigger than a titmouse, but i may have lost the original bird i was following in the trees and picked up this one instead.

Is that a wood thrush in you avatar pic? That was the first bird i digiscoped only the pic came out very bad.

The tail feathers and size put me in mind of the yellow rumped but It's not that cause I don't see any streaking on the chest. Is that yellow I see part of the bird? My next guess would be the northern parula with that white belly and the wing bars.

Last edited: