• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hullo! (1 Viewer)

sdoig

Alright? My names Steven, I'm 32 and I've been birding seriously since 2005.
I live in Forfar, so I 'served my time' at Farfir Loch, and still go there once a month.

Wednesday is my day off and I get all grouchy if i CAN'T GO OUT. I usually stick to Angus, places like Kinnordy, the Basin, Lintrathen, Arbroath cliffs, Backwater, and summer trips up Glen Esk.

Once or twice a year I try and go somewhere a bit further afield - for example in November I travelled down to Dumfries, to three differnet reserves, which was great, but knackering, coz did it and returned home in the one day!

Roughly every second year I go to Orkney, just because its great!

Until recently, me and the wife used to go on 'wildlife' holidays (Kenya, India, Galapagos etc), so I've seen some pretty cool stuff!!

My Scottish list is rubbish though, I finally got my 200th species a few weeks back, but its been good fun!

A lot of my birding is done with my faither (he's off Wednesdays too).

I'm quite proud of the fact that I helped to get one of my pals into birding (Hes around here somewhere!!)

My wife's having our first bairn in six weeks, so my birding habits will change dramatically!! We've pretty much agreed that Forfar Loch will become my regular haunt once again (which is fine, coz I like it a lot!)

I work in R Doig & Sons in Montrose, so anybody whos vaguely local passes my way, feel free to drop in a for a blether!!

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t: