• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sony NEX5 advice needed for birding. (1 Viewer)

Gem4447

I have a 13 year old avid birder who often wants me to capture his sightings for later identification (and the family photo album). Unfortunately I am an amateur photographer and need advice.

I am using a Sony NEX5 (with 55-210 lens). I tried to photograph a hummingbird and oriole in the yard recently - they sat still for quite some time but only one picture was in focus of many. I can't seem to focus on that single bird with all the greenery behind it. Does anyone know this camera well enough to give me some specific recommendations?

Thank you so much!

I shoot with a NEX-5N, and a NEX3 before that. I also use the 55-210mm lens, though I also stack a 1.7x teleextender on the end of it to get more reach as with bird photography, you can never have too much zoom!

The very basics would be: make sure you are using AF-S focus mode, and switch to Flex Spot Focus mode (if you weren't already) set to the central focus area. This is the very smallest focus box available, and will help you focus specifically on a smaller target in front of a busy background. I should mention that you shouldn't be in 'auto' mode on your main shooting mode selector - auto mode doesn't let you make changes to various settings...by switching at least to 'P' mode (program auto), or the A, S, or M modes, you can then take control over your various focus modes and settings.