• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New to Birdwatching - Which binoculars? Tight budget! (1 Viewer)

rjmartin

Hey There,

Would like to start off by saying how glad I am to have joined the forum.

Anyway I'm very new to bird watching and I am looking to buy my first pair of binoculars, now I am a student and so therefore am on a very, very tight budget (£50).

Is there anything half decent I can get for this?

A couple I have been looking at:

http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/5800267/Trail/searchtext>BINOCULARS.htm

http://direct.asda.com/Celestron-UpClose-10x50-Porro-Binoculars/000624612,default,pd.html

What's the difference between the top link and bottom link (bar the saving of £13?!)

Somebody also suggested these:

http://www.scopesnskies.com/prod/Praktica/birding/binoculars/CN10x42G-roof.html

Feel free to suggest any items from Argos, Tesco Direct, Asda Direct, Amazon etc

Or would a telescope be better?

Thanks very much for your help!

Cheers, Rob

Hi,

And very welcome to birdforum.

First, at your price range you'll get the best optical performance from a porro prism bino (the kind of W-shaped ones in your first links). The practica roof prism (H-shaped) is probably not as good optically.

Most birders (I think) including me tend to prefer 8x binos over 10x due to greater image stability and they are less tiering to the eyes in the long run. Also the 8x binoculars have a bigger field of view compared to similar 10x. A bigger F o V makes it easier to find and keep the birds in view.