• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I need help with identifying birds. (1 Viewer)

Mandar05

http://www.instagram.com/mandar05
I need help with identifying birds. Kenya/Tanzania

Hello everyone!

My google search for 'bird forum' was about 5 mins ago, and here I am writing my first post! :)

I'm going to say this first.. I'm a total bird newbie and I googled this forum for help as the title says. I love photography and as a hobby I love taking photos, where ever I go, my camera goes!

I've just come back from a trip to Africa (Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda) and its honestly been incredible. Totally humbling, total new found appreciation for this planet all all those that call it home. I've always been a fan of nature, birds / animals. I've probably seen every David Attenborough documentary there is :)

So this trip was something I've always wanted to do and i'm glad my wife and I did it! Sure wasn't cheap but theres some things that are just worth sacrificing for.

Anyway I'll get to the point.. we had lovely guides along the way and i took hundreds of photos, and i took in lots of information and wrote notes on my phone where possible. BUT.... after a while all the names of birds the guides were saying were a blur, i could tell if i had already taken a photo of a purple breasted something or a red beak yellow bellied something else. It was hard to keep track and I gave up writing the names down. =)