• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

mystery bird - please help (1 Viewer)

viking

Hello birders
Im new here and first of all sorry for my poor english!

I have made an observation the last nights about a mystery bird singing in the middle of the night outside my house here in Oslo.
Its been difficult for me to observe it because its very dark in the middle of the night! I have made a sound recording of it.
Im not a bird expert but I have a few birdsound Cds of Scandinavian birds but Im sure its not there!
So for me this is a big mystery, I think we have a rarity here!
I cant sleep at nights anylonger because of this. The bird starts to sing the same song countinously for 2 hours the last 4 nights!
I have attached a zip-file for you to listen to.
I will try to make a daylight observation of it this weekend if its still there...
Any suggestions ?

Attachments

• mysterybird.zip
    525.3 KB · Views: 290
Michael,

WAV files canot be posted here the only acceptable file extensions being gif jpg png txt zip bmp and jpeg.

I can open the file with no problem (but have not been able to id the bird), so I assume you lack a compression utility program to open up the zipped file. The one I use is free and can be downloaded from the following URL.

www.ultimatezip.com

PS welcome to the forum Viking I'm sure someone will sone ID that bird.

This is making me alittle crazy. That sounds familiar.....but I'm on the wrong continent. Can't come up with a name....yet.

dennis