• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Vortex 9 x 36 Diamondback (1 Viewer)

ceasar

Here is a short review of the Vortex 9 x 36 Diamondback binocular. It is a link from the "Binocular Rambling" thread, and is also posted there.

I've been using the "Orphan Format" 9 x 36 Vortex for over 6 months. I keep it in the car. It's well worth the $200.00 it sells for. It's very rugged; built like the 8 x 42 Diamondback, and like it, it has a wide FOV. (368' at 1000 yards.) It is quite easy to use with it's 4mm exit pupil. It has phase coating and new coatings on the objectives which are supposed to make it brighter. I have the older model 8 x 42 and can see that the new version has an additional purple coating that the older model does not have.

It focuses VERY smoothly, (quite nice in fact!) much like the Nikon LX L but not as fast. In fact, in general design, length, width and weight it is similar to my Nikon 8 x 32 LX L, even to the "off set ears" that hold the strap. It is slightly larger than the 8 x 32 but not all that much bigger. The diopter is commendably stiff and stays where it is set. The twist up eyecups have one indent position but could lock a bit more firmly.

Like it's big brother the 8 x 42, it has a very large amount of pincushion distortion, probably to compensate for it's wide FOV. I am not susceptible to CA but did notice it when I focused on brightly lit vertical and horizontal edges of buildings. I also noticed it on one occasion while looking at Turkey Vultures soaring high up in a bright overcast sky.