• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird Help (1 Viewer)

jjw

Hello all,

I'm a novice at birding and at BirdForum. I imagine the bird pictured is a ruby-throated hummingbird, as I believe they are the only ones who regularly visit northern Virginia, USA. I wonder, though, if it is a female or an immature male. It was spotted taking advantage of a honeysuckle vine in mid-September.

Thanks,
Julie

Attachments

• HUMMINGBIRD_SIPPING.JPG
    HUMMINGBIRD_SIPPING.JPG
    59.2 KB · Views: 149
  • Hummingbird_zoomed.JPG
    Hummingbird_zoomed.JPG
    38 KB · Views: 144
Hi, Julie!

A warm welcome to you from all of us on staff here at BirdForum!

I'm afraid I'm not familiar with this eastern species of hummer and not lucky enough to get them where I live, but I'm sure someone will be along shortly who can confirm the ID for you.

Nice photos, too!

I am not certain if you can tell juvenile male and female Ruby-throated Hummingbirds apart. But I suppose someone will be along shortly who will be able to let you know.

Welcome to BirdForum!

Well, I'm going to throw a fly into the ointment and say that the hummer in the second photo is probably a juvie male.

jjw said:
Hello all,

I'm a novice at birding and at BirdForum. I imagine the bird pictured is a ruby-throated hummingbird, as I believe they are the only ones who regularly visit northern Virginia, USA. I wonder, though, if it is a female or an immature male. It was spotted taking advantage of a honeysuckle vine in mid-September.

Thanks,
Julie