• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ladies - do you feel safe when birding? (1 Viewer)

Caz

I'm fairly new to birding and visit mainly local areas, but I do worry about personal safety.
I'm wondering how safe other women feel and if they go birding on their own. My husband does not share my new hobby but occassionally comes with me, (which means I have to occassionally visit motorsport venues!!).

Caz,it is highly unlikey you will ever be harrassed whil'st birdwatching.It is considered an eccentric occupation by most people,and you will be viewed as a mad female!!.Honestly!!.We have druggies who use our bird hide,and whenever I appear,they just smile patronisingly and carry on with their business.I do all my birding on my own,and have never felt threatened.But if you have to accompany hubby to bike racing motor sport,then that is a fair swap!!.But if it is car racing(very boring) then yes,I do sympathise!!

It doesn't bother me really. Common sense that's about it. I certainly don't worry whether something "bad" will happen to me; my theory, if it's gonna happen it will, where-ever you are. Anyway, I'll give as good as I get - or at least I'll have a damn good go. ;)