• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

mega zoom cameras (1 Viewer)

Keith Dickinson

Opus Editor
Hi folks,
I am using my wife's kodak camera for digiscoping at the moment and am thinking of getting one of the mega zoom point and shoot cameras for myself. Have my eye on a Kodak Z740 which is a 10x optical zoom with a 5 MP sensor, or the Z650 which is 6MP but still a 10x zoom, or even the Canon S2 IS which is 12x optical but only 5MP.
Any comments on their suitability for digiscoping would be appreciated.

Keith,

I am relatively new at this but it has been my understanding from reading the various posts on this forum and from other digiscoping sites that any optical zoom above 3-4x is not a good thing for a digiscoping setup. Exactly why I am not sure. Maybe the increased optical zoom does not work well from an image quality standpoint or maybe the type of lens design found on cameras with high optical zooms does not mate well for a digiscoping setup because of the mechanics of the design itself...excessive vignetting, etc...

I tried my wife's Fuji Finepix S1000 (might have the numbers off a bit), 6x optical zoom and large lens with my scope and experienced excessive vignetting with no zoom setting and absolutely horrible vignetting at 6x.

Hopefully someone more knowledgable on this issue can shed more light.