• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birdtrack vs. e-bird (1 Viewer)

bluesinlondon

I've been using Birdtrack for a few years now, but e-bird seems quite appealing since it offers 'Worldwide' rather than Birdtrack's 'UK only'... Not to mention what looks to be much better usability and features.

I would welcome any thoughts on whether I should switch...

I seem to recall reading somewhere that they'd done a deal with each other so that the data submitted in either gets passed to the other. Is this the case? I really like the 'citizen science' aspect and wouldn't want the BTO to lose out if I switch...

Also, is it possible, in e-bird, to add previous years lists simply, without having to do all the details? I don't really want to re-do every entry from the past five years, but it would be good to be able to see totals...

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
When I looked at the two together at the start of the year, e-bird seemed to be way ahead of BirdTrack in terms of usability.

Bird Track would seem the best option for UK records, as it duals as an excellent record submission tool which is vital, especially for common bird and full species list site data. I have used Bird Track for several years now, they get far more records from me as my previous end of year submission to the recorder usually ended up only being "significant" records of rares, unusual numbers etc.
Hopefully they will have the iPhone App finished soon. If E-bird is also submitting records to the BTO also then great, can this be confirmed?

Last edited: