• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Opticron DBA Oasis or BGA Classic Oasis? (1 Viewer)

Gray C

Grumpy old bugger
United Kingdom
I was looking to buy an Opticron monocular, but after handling one I found it difficult to hold it steady in comparison to binoculars (8x42)

I am now considering buying either Opticron DBA Oasis 8x42 or Opticron BGA Classic Oasis 8x42. I have seen the BGA's for sale at £369 and the DBA's for sale at £579.

The question is...are the DBA's a lot better and worth the extra £210, or is the quality difference negligible.

I am new to bird watching and would also use the binoculars extensively for holidays and general use.

Experts, please offer me your opinions as I am really undecided as to what to get.

Don't claim to be an expert (I'm not!!) but here's my two pence worth

well I'm a big fan of Opticron but if you're thinking of spending the best part of £600 you need to try and compare. Are they worth £200 more? Dunno guv, probably none of the tops bins are objectively worth what they cost but if that "extra bit" is important to you.

If you want to spend £600 I'd also have a look at the Leica Trinovid 8x32 £620 ish, Nikon HGL8x32 £650ish, Swaro 8x30SLC £500ish.

You really need to get somewhere where you can try a few pairs advice is all well and good but you are the ones using them and we each react differently to different bins.

Bear in mind more expensive doesn't mean better. You may get on better with a mid priced bin or see no difference