• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swarovski Habicht 8x30 W. (1 Viewer)

eric4

Hello,

I'm looking to purchase my first nice pair of binos. I've looked into the Minox 8x44 bl HD, maven b1 and b3, meopta binos, and celestron granite 7x33. As a photographer, I greatly appreciate good optics and have enjoyed various lenses from zeiss, leica, minolta hexanon, olympus, pentax etc.

I don't mind spending the ~$750 for a great pair of optics that will last me a lifetime, but perhaps a more affordable, modern optic would be a better fit

The main purpose is an all-around so weather sealing is a definite plus. The draws to the Habicht are the light weight, great optics, and apparently the brightness and light transmission compare to a ~40mm objective lens bino

I currently have quite good vision and young eyes (26y/o) and don't wear glasses either.

The only other high end binoculars I have access to are my fathers Zeiss 10x40 T* (unable to find specific model, they look like the dialyt, but are single hinge) which are quite nice to look through.

Since these Habicht's don't seem too common in the US, I'm looking for some advice. Would you recommend this model? Or do you think a more modern, roof prisim style bino is a better fit for the price?

Last edited:
Eric4, post 1,