• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Leupold Golden Ring 15X30 50mm compact spotting scope mini review (1 Viewer)

ejdeltoro

Disclaimer. I have no affiliation with Leupold, B&H and the review is not intended to endorse any product or company. It simply represents my opinion on the product. Also, I am not a professional reviewer, so take this review with some grains of salt! Comments are welcome.

After deciding to buy a spotting scope, I started looking for reviews and checking prices on the net for scopes that filled my needs. It definitively had to be fogproof as mornings in New Jersey, USA are usually very cold in late fall, winter and mid-spring, and very humid in the summer. It had to be lightweight as I already haul a heavy backpack with camera equipment and a 7 lbs tripod/head combo, and finally, the cost shouldn’t exceed $400 dollars which of course eliminated all premium scopes. I wanted something equivalent to my Nikon Monarch binoculars: great optical performance at a reasonable price.

There was pretty much no information on the options left (which is what motivates me to write this review by the way). Models from Meade, Bushnell, Audubon, Eagle Optics, Alpen, Leupold and Simmons offered weatherproofing in the 60mm range, but they all had a zoom eyepiece, which at this price range, usually is the weak link and more often than not, they are unusable at the long end of the zoom where the image becomes dull with very little eye relief.