• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

8x42 Advice & Recommendations (1 Viewer)

Joebobb

Dear all,

I am looking for a good 8-8.5 x 36-44 binocular. I use them not only for bird-watching (I'm quite new at this) but also for very all-round use, including boating, hiking, etc.

Important criteria for me: roof prism, price $175-$300, weight < 750g (the lighter the better), waterproof, eye-relief acceptable for eyeglass wearer, a reasonably wide field of view, decent close focus ability, good optical performance, and well-constructed.

I currently have a Nikon Monarch 8x42 ATBs (pre-dielectric coating). I have been very happy with the Monarch (previous experience was with absolute garbage...typical <$50 porro prisms your average joe buys on a whim), but when I started to investigate buying a binocular for my uncle, I read some comments that lead me to believe that I might appreciate a larger field of view than the Monarch offers (which is apparently relatively limited). This opened up a can of worms, so to speak, and now I am considering whether I should buy two binoculars of a different make/model!

Here are some models that seem to be potentially interesting. I'd really love to hear any observations, ideally from people with relevant experience:

- Nikon Monarch 8x42 ATB, with dielectric coating: I'll keep this on the list as the benchmark. The real question is: Given my criteria above, is there anything better.

- Pentax DCF CS 8x42: On paper, it looks like the front-runner. Not much in the way of on-line reviews and comparisons though.