• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help....anybody !!!!!!! (1 Viewer)

kingfisher

Scouser in exile
I am fairly new to this Digiscoping fun, i own a Nikon 4500 and my scope is an Opticron imagic 80, for Digiscoping i use a 35xx ww HDF eye piece an d the adapter is from eagle eye optics.

My problem is that when i take shots they always come out always blurred, and i am rather puzzled by the whole thing, i have followed Andy Brights tips on setting up the Nikon from a previous thread, i.e. on Manual etc, but alas to no joy.......is it the eyepiece or am i missing something fairly obvious ......... help someone please........

A grateful Kingfisher.:t:

Have you narrowed it down to either camera shake or lack of focus, or could something else (dirty lens, possibly) be causing it ?

Tony

Hi Tony,

i use a wired remote to rule out camera shake and the lens on both scope and Nikon are clean as a whistle.....as this is what i thought was causing the problem. I am sure i am doing something wrong here somewere......

A 35x eyepiece is a bit over the top for most situations... unless the sun is out, you will be getting very slow shutter-speeds... the remote doesn't totally eliminate camera shake (watch out for the cable pulling on the camera, trembling hands can still transmit up the remote cable!)

The magnifications involved when using a 35x eyepiece and a fair amount of camera zoom are amazing... many things can cause slight vibration and ruin the image.
Tried taking pics of inanimate objects.... to rule out motion blur from the birds?