• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Developing new recording software from scratch (1 Viewer)

_pauls

Hi all,

I'm pondering writing my own bird recording software as a) I know what I personally want from it, b) it saves me paying for software that doesn't match my requirements and c) most of the software I've seen doesn't seem very professional (ie written by hobbyists not professionals).

I wonder if anyone would be interested in helping me with ideas of what they would look for in desktop software for recording sightings etc?

I'm a professional software developer (20 years developing desk-top and web software) and spare-time bird watcher so the technical side isn't a problem but I would be interested in knowing what kind of data people would want to record, specific formats of record that would be useful for linking to other programs, mapping capabilities etc.

Anyone that would be keen to get involved please let me know - ultimately if I do end up with a releasable product at the end I'd be happy to give it away free to those who've helped out and at a nominal cost/shareware for anyone else.

Cheers,

Paul

I used to be a developer myself (16yrs experience) before my current job and would be happy to help in any way I can.

Thanks - I note your comments on another thread about mobile apps - do you have any experience of writing for iPhone/Android?

I'm primarily looking at a desktop app but in this day and age some interoperability with a mobile app would definitely be useful. I've written "Hello World" on Android but nothing for iPhone.