• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding In Guernsey (1 Viewer)

JIM MIDDLETON

Hello,

I've just joined Bird Forum and this is my first post - I live in Hemel Hempstead but am going to Guernsey next week and wondered if anyone could point me to the best birdwatching sites there - I am particularly interested in Wryneck, Hoopoe, Short-toed Treecreeper, Ortolan Bunting & Dartford Warbler. Also any good wader / sea-watching sites and any good passerine migrant areas (eg flycatchers, redstarts etc).

Thanks very much

JIM

Hi Jim and welcome to Bird Forum.

I’m not a birding expert, more of a nature lover who enjoys watching birds and learning, but I’ll try my best to help. I know there has been a Wryneck at Pleinmont recently (go south down the west coast of Guernsey as far as you can go (by car). See
http://www.geocities.com/mplawlorgue/Guernseybirdnews.html

This site shows you the reserves:
http://www.societe.org.gg/reserves.htm
Click on the green dots!

La Claire Mare by the coast has a nice hide, but you can always see plenty of waders all along the west coast from Pleinmont northwards. The coastline here is flat and easily accessible and you can get nice close views of the birds. My favourite parts are the south end of Vazon (Richmond end, Fort Le Crocq) and the dunes at Vazon. Another good spot is Grandes Havres (further north), lots of Turnstones, Ringed Plovers, Sanderlings and others.

There is a thread by Malgos that you might like to look at - lower down on his page. He has visited Guernsey in the last week or so.

Good luck in Guernsey, hope you enjoy it.

Nerine