• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canadian Telescopes 80ED vs. Orion 80ED (1 Viewer)

jklaassen33

I'm looking to get into wildlife photography using astro telescopes. I am totally new to telescopes. I do some birding, but mostly photograph deer. So, I am wanting a scope that I can be fairly mobile with. Which scope would you suggest?
I know that the Canadian Telescopes 80ED is not going to be well known (or known at all). But, wondering if the specs of the scope would make it good for wildlife photography.

Link to the Canadian Telescopes 80ED http://www.canadiantelescopes.com/S...-Telescopes-ED80-APO-Refractor_2#.UQL9V2fJLcc

Thanks, Jared

Wow, I’m sure someone with more knowledge will give you better advice but what I am seeing is this Canadian Telescopes ED80 is a 500mm, f/6.25 Sale Price: $599.00 CDN
And the Orion ED80 is a 600mm at (f/7.5) Price: $499.99 CDN
A lot of peps on here are using the ED80 might have different manufactures names but are the same scope mainly.

Have a look in the Astroscope + DSLR = Gallery! its just under your post at the moment.

Edit
Forgot to add it’s the ED80 f7.5 600mm they, we are using.

Jim

Last edited:
Ya, I've been looking at a lot of different threads about using astro-telescopes. I'm very impressed with the results of the Synta 80ED scopes. The only reason I'm looking at the other one is because of the portability issue. The other scope is only a 14.3" optical tube compared to 23.5" of the Orion.