• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

500 or 600mm f4 (1 Viewer)

Gaz Shilton

United Kingdom
I have been saving for nearly 2 years now.
Around September I should have enough to buy a camera, tripod, wimberly, converter and lens.
I would like to buy one of the big Canon primes.
But which one?
I understand that they are big and heavy as far as lenses go.
However, is the difference between the 500 and 600 that great?
With/without teleconverters, does the 'extra' reach make much of a difference?
I have seen people out in the field with either the 500 or 600 and they don't look that different.
One chap I asked who had a 600mm said those that owned the 500 didn't know what they were missing. If you want the reach, the 600 is all you need. He said the weight is not a problem and that it was the best buy he ever made.
However, a lot of reviews on the net are conflicting. Those that own the 500mm say the 600mm is too big and heavy, whereas, those that own the 600mm say although it is a heavy beast, the images and reach you can achieve with and without teleconverters 'outweigh' the weight of the lens.

I wouldn't want to buy the 500 and then wish I had gone for the bigger version.
On the flip side, I wouldn't want to do the opposite.

The type of birding photography I do is from hides and also walking and taking shots as they arise when I am out and about.
At the moment I have a D200 with a Tamron 200-500 lens.

But I would like some advice on an upgrade and I would really like one of the Canon lenses.......But which one???

Thanks

Hi Gaz