• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Post Your Favorite Sketch from Life (1 Viewer)

colleenc

I thought it would be fun, and to me anyway, instructive to have a thread of favorite sketches, can be yours or an artist you love, and say why it is your favorite. It should be a sketch from a live bird, not photo or stuffed.

Here is mine, done at the egret trees I've been observing for the last 2 months, nearly every day. Yesterday I did this and this is why it is so perfect in my eyes. First absolute minimum of lines, that exactly describe the forms, to the point I can see it's a snowy and not a great egret. The lines are sure and graceful.
pencil about 3" tall
now lets see others:t:

Attachments

• zen snowy  7 27621.jpg
    zen snowy 7 27621.jpg
    116.2 KB · Views: 50
Great idea, Colleen! I'll have to go through mine when I return home this evening.

I do think that my favorite art, both my own and that of others, is often quick sketches. I could never get past Rembrandt's sketches to look at his paintings. There was just too much in the sketches.........

Great idea, Colleen! I'll have to go through mine when I return home this evening.

I do think that my favorite art, both my own and that of others, is often quick sketches. I could never get past Rembrandt's sketches to look at his paintings. There was just too much in the sketches.........

Im not worthy, yet :-C
Ill be checking this thread regularly though....
Right now I am looking for ideas on various textures mostly
regarding feathers and how to do them without overpowering the