• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Spring is in the air (1 Viewer)

new 2 this

Looking at the birds in my garden today I could see lots of playful stuff going on, I'm no expert but it looked like courting behaviour to me. Lots of birds pairing off too. :D

It smelled spring fresh today too and I figure it won't be long until the chicks arive, our friendly robin has found a mate this year, last year he remained a constant visitor and bachelor, so hopefully we'll get more robins, according to an old book I have they will lay their eggs this month all the way through to July...5-8 too, fingers crossed the cats stay away, not seen any in our patch the last few days but saw some lurking in our neighbours garden amongst the bushes.....grrrr! :cat:

The Starlings don't start til June but they seem to be partnering up....could we be heading for an early spring...the birds would know this, yes? Crow in March, doesn't seem to be behaving differently yet. Lastly the Magpie is getting very noisy am, why? It isn't supposed to mate until April, do you suppose he is looking for a mate or is it a spring call. Suddenly lots of House sparrows about, again my book says February. They were all paired up so it looks like it's going to get steadily busier here soon. :cool:

Anyone else got any signs of spring? I noticed at our local garden centre on Monday that all the daffs were ready to bloom and all the spring plants are there, looked all stocked up for a Monday. :D