• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

University Project - Design a bird feeder/bird box (1 Viewer)

Nwilkin92

Hello Bird Forum,

I am a first year design student at Northumbria University in Newcastle Upon Tyne and I have just been given a design brief in which we are to design a bird box or a bird feeder for a client. As a starting point, I wanted to ask people who are interested in the subject a few questions about their bird feeders / boxes. If you could give a few minutes of your time to answer my questions that would be greatly appreciated. If the questions are too long, I would be grateful if you could give any information on the subject area . Finally, if its not too much to ask, it would be most excellent if you could post a picture of your bird feeder so I could see what type of bird feeder people are using out there .

Here are the questions:

What do you look for in a bird feeder?

Do you aim to attract a specific species of bird, or a general variety?

What is your general price range for a bird feeder (without camera)?

What issues do you encounter with your bird feeder that you would want improved upon regarding design?

If you aim to attract a specific bird, how do you go about doing this?

Do you often encounter problems in which the birds that you are hoping for do not come because larger, or different types of bird, take the feed?

What is your aim for attracting birds, do you want them to make nest, or simply feed them?

Thank you very very much for taking your time to help me out,

Nwilkin92