• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Alpen Apex vs. Nikon Monarch (with optical introduction) (1 Viewer)

trashbird

Hi, I'm new to birdforum and I tend to get obsessed about optics -- not that I have the bucks for the top-shelf stuff, but I have and have had some nice "middle-shelf" binoculars. Used to have Swift Ultra-Lite 8x42 (really nice optics but tendency to go out of collimation easily); Swift Ultra-Lite 8x32 (also really nice, but eye-relief was poor so I returned them right away). I currently have a Celestron Noble 8x32 (ruggedly built, nice handling, optics not as good as the Ultra-Lites, and barely acceptable eye-relief); B&L Custom Compact 7x26 (the best optics I own, incredibly bright for their size, razor-sharp center field, but a tendency to go out of collimation every now and then). Just a note on the collimation issues: I live in Tucson, Arizona, USA which has very hot summers. I think when a binocular is left in a hot car for any length of time and is bumped just right, it can go out of collimation. Though my roof-prism Celestron Nobles have never done so.

At any rate, recently I wanted some new full-size binocs with a budget of around 300 US$. After researching the web, I was interested in the Nikon Monarch 8x42 and the Swift HHS 8.5x44. The Swift was a little above budget. My requirements were roof-prism, phase-corrected, waterproof nitrogen purged, generous eye-relief, IPD below 58mm. Everything except the low IPD was pretty easy to find in many makes and models. The Nikon Monarchs and Swifts had it all.