• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sparrow ID (1 Viewer)

Grousemore

American Sparrows can be fairly difficult,but I'd be interested in any opinions on this one.
Taken today in central Florida.

Attachments

• DSCN0960.JPG
    DSCN0960.JPG
    62.9 KB · Views: 275
I think I'd agree with Andrew on this one (Bachman's Sparrow), though I am not sure if the breast streaking is right?-(Bare in mind I have no experience of this species!)

Regards
Tristan

I don't know. Where it is a rather non-descript sparrow, the beak does not seem right for a bachman nor does the eye but I'm at a loss as to what else it could be.

Last edited:
Chipping is about the only Spizella possibility down there-- others would be out of range (except Field Sparrow, which this does NOT look like). Bachman's would be a good guess and a nice tick. Can't really tell from the picture whether the breast is streaked or not. I tend to suggest Song Sparrow for anything I can't place elsewhere.

Too bad we can't see the breast. My gut reaction on seeing the picture was Song Sparrow but after comparing the picture to pictures in field guides I would have to say that unfortunately I can't id. the bird for sure from this picture.

Thanks for the input folks.
Unfortunately I was unable to see the breast at all.The bird was singing,but I'd never heard Bachman's or Song sparrow,although the Sibley description fitted Bachman's more than Song.
Not sure if these further pics will help;

Attachments

• DSCN0959.JPG
    DSCN0959.JPG
    69.1 KB · Views: 211
  • DSCN0966.JPG
    DSCN0966.JPG
    55.3 KB · Views: 226