• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cheap binoculars to start (1 Viewer)

Sbiriguda

Hello everybody
This is the question all advanced users will hate...
Which is a cheap equipment to start?
I am a complete newbie, I would like to buy binoculars and camera lenses to start birdwatching. Later on I might want to step up to a better equipment if I see I like this activity
I would like to buy binoculars, I would observe mostly birds, I especially like raptors and lake birds that are common in the area of northern Italy where I live.
I considered buying also lenses for mobile phones to use as binoculars/lenses, but honestly i didn't like them that much
I can buy on the internet and wait if necessary (say from China), and I live in continental Europe as i said before
I might travel abroad, also in Asia, and if possible I would like to use the binocular also to watch animals like Dolphins and whales
Thank you for your suggestions

I think starting with the cheapest possible equipment is the wrong approach.
As a „complete newbie“, as you say, you should rather choose something decent or you will be put off by a bad experience with a cheap binocular and will never really take up birdwatching or a similar hobby.
So in my view, you should rather start with a decent bincolar, but on the other hand it is probably too early to start spending too much money on equipment.
So my advice would be to start with something relatively low priced but qualitatively acceptable like a Nikon Action EX 7x35 and then move on from there.

Canip

Last edited:
Thank you Canip for your feedback
Ouch!