• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Memory cards for Kyocera SL300 & 400R (1 Viewer)

Rob Smallwood

I am looking around for new memory cards for my cameras - Sandisk 512 seem to be around £25 delivered from Amazon which seems pretty competitive.

Does anyone know any better sources or makes?

I'm no expert but these memory cards have different 'write' speeds. Make sure this is one of the faster ones. I bought 'Kingston pro elite', which have the faster write speed, from 'digitaldepot.co.uk' who were the cheapest at the time. Having a quick look on there it would seem that Sandisk are a little more expensive and a similar price to the one you quoted gets you the slower card.

Dont know if i've helped you or confused you.

Graeme.

You need write speeds in excess of 5.5mb/sec to take advantage of high res movie mode - not even some so-called fast cards achieve that.

However, the Kingston Elite Pro that Graeme points out are even faster than that, and there are some good deals on Amazon at the moment - Bytestor are particularly cheap, but I've never used them so can't recommend.

I'll be buying a 1gb card in the next few days, but haven't decided which yet.

Whatever you choose, I'd recommend the fastest type. I bought slower ones and now I've got to invest again because I fancy using the movie mode.

I used an I-integral 1gb in my Kyocera - was fast enough to deal with the movie mode without any problems.

Over the last year or two everytime I've had to buy memory I've found Amazon to be about the best for it, often significantly cheaper than some of eth other well known retailers.