• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie! (1 Viewer)

Hi all! I'm completely new to digiscoping, so bear with me. I've read as much as I can without my eyes turning red, and think I'm leaning towards a preferred set up. I've been dissatisifed with the reach of a Canon 70d with 400m f/5.6 lens, and the quality of the Canon SX50 HS 1200mm superzoom that replaced it.

I'm an amateur photographer already, so have a decent Manfrotto 055ProB tripod and a Fuji X-E2 with which I plan to digiscope with.

I haven't bought a scope yet, but have my heart set on the Kowa 883 with the 20-60 wide angle zoom. Any suggestions that might change my mind?

In terms of lenses, I have two lined up - a 35mm f/1.4 and a 56mm f/1.2. The latter is heavier but marginally brighter and longer, the former is much lighter and no slouch in terms of sharpness either. Which would be the better lens for digiscoping? I'm assuming I won't see vignetting on either, but I'm guessing the 56mm might use the sharper/lower CA portion of the scope's image (i.e. the middle).

A couple of questions - do I shoot with the camera lens wide open for brightness, or is it better to stop it down a bit for sharpness? I'm not sure of what effect the lens settings have on a digiscoping setup.

Also, what's the preferred focussing technique? Lens at infinity and focus manually using the scope, or coarse with the scope and autofocus with the camera? The X-E2 has focus peaking which should help if doing it manually.

Sorry for the essay, cheers for any replies!

PS,