• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swaro ATS 65 HD vs Nikon Monarch (1 Viewer)

Sygus

Hello all,

I plan to buy my first spotting scope for birding. I’m a newbie, but I probably should follow some friends advice : “get something good now and you won’t have to worry about it for many many years”.

I want something compact, robust and reasonably light. I probably will use it for digiscoping but it’s not the main goal. After reading a lot of reviews and discussions, especially on birdforum, I hesitate between :
- Swaro ATS 65 HD + 25-50 (+ : very good optics, solid, quality control and after sales service)
- Nikon Monarch 82 ED + 30-60W (+: goods optics, 82 mm but still compact / - : quality control and service ?) The Monarch 60 seems nice too, and it’s cheaper but ... ?

There’s no store around here where I could try them, so I‘d appreciate some advices.
What would be your choice ? Why ?
Or would you recommend anything else ?

Thanks !

Hi,

the Monarch scopes are rather new and reviews are rare as are occasions to actually see one in a store...

PS: If that's not too big for you - there's an ATS80HD with 20-60 zoom in the classifieds from france... not my ad.

Joachim

Nikon has been making top quality scopes in the PRC for quite a while,with consistent quality standards for all i have read and experienced myself, owning several units of the ED50 over the years...Swaro has not been free of manufacture problems with their optics,even with their ATX models, although their customer service is likely to be much better than nikon's ,probably in every other continent