• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello from the North East (1 Viewer)

seaburn1

Hi everybody

I'm hoping to pick up lots of info on this wonderful site, everybody seems so friendly.

I've been feeding and watching the garden birds for a few years now but have a question for you. Can someone please tell me why, after going to the expense of buying a nyjer feeder\seed last year, the goldfinches still insist on using it just to queue up for the sunflower hearts?

Happy birding

Seaburn1, on behalf of admin and all the moderators, welcome to Bird Forum.

I'm not sure about your observation - our Goldfinches mainly eat the niger seed, and the 40 or so House Sparrows devour the sunflower hearts. Occasionally a Goldfinch will be seen on the sunflower feeder. Then they have to move quickly when the sparrows descend!

Hi Seaburn. Welcome to Birdforum. Like you our Goldfinches do not go near the Nyger feed but they can't get enough of the sunflower hearts.

Regional Preferences?

That's interesting. The sparrows here prefer the mixed seed, millet or the fatballs, when the starlings allow! The sunflower hearts are loved by all but particularly the goldfinches and greenfinches who can get quite agressive in guarding their perches.

digi-birder said:
Seaburn1, on behalf of admin and all the moderators, welcome to Bird Forum.

I'm not sure about your observation - our Goldfinches mainly eat the niger seed, and the 40 or so House Sparrows devour the sunflower hearts. Occasionally a Goldfinch will be seen on the sunflower feeder. Then they have to move quickly when the sparrows descend!