• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cooper's or Sharp-shinned? (1 Viewer)

Cillana

I'm pretty sure this is a Cooper's Hawk. The tail looks rounded to me. I'm not good at judging size if I don't have another bird to compare it too, but it looked pretty big. What do you think?

Attachments

• P1150014cpsm.jpg
    P1150014cpsm.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 149
  • P1150016cpsm.jpg
    P1150016cpsm.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 129
  • P1150017cpsm.jpg
    P1150017cpsm.jpg
    43.9 KB · Views: 149
  • P1150030cpsm.jpg
    P1150030cpsm.jpg
    56 KB · Views: 119
  • P1150039cpsm.jpg
    P1150039cpsm.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 151
I'd say Cooper's, too, but not based on the tail's "roundness" but rather on the graduated length of the tail feathers (esp. in shots #1, 2 and 4) which is what gives the fanned tail the rounded look. I've seen folded tails on Cooper's that, depending on wear, can look somewhat square depending on the angle of the photo.

In pic #5, even though it's blurry and a pine is in the shot, you can see the square shaped head, indicating Coops (as opposed to the round shaped head of a Sharpie). Also, 1-4 are really nice shots!

overworkedirish said:
In pic #5, even though it's blurry and a pine is in the shot, you can see the square shaped head, indicating Coops (as opposed to the round shaped head of a Sharpie). Also, 1-4 are really nice shots!