• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Scope Comparison help needed (1 Viewer)

Crazyjoe

So I’m about to upgrade from my bins to a first scope. I can only really afford mid range, especially as I want to get a decent tripod and iPhone digiscoping adapter. The three I’m looking at in order of preference are

1. Celestron Regal M2 80
2. Hawke Endurance ED20 85
3. Vanguard Endeavour HD 82A.

Tripod I’m looking at is Vanguard Alta Pro 263AT.

I could potentially go a bit more expensive but I’d really rather not.

Does anyone have experience with these scopes? I’m not an optics expert so please do dumb down technical speak ;)

Hi,

welcome to BF first of all!

Regarding scopes, midrange is often so so. The one I would try myself if only those three were an option, would be the Celestron. Its zoom EP is quite ok and there is a lot of choice of astro EPs for fixed mag.

On the other hand I would try to fit some used alpha glass inside the budget. Having a look at the classifieds (local and in this forum) would help, Infocus also posts an up to date used optics list in the vendor section...

Joachim, who is very content with his TSN-3 and SDLv2 zoom...

Last edited:
Hi CrazyJo and welcome to BirdForum. I've got the Hawke and have been very happy with it paired up to a Slik D3. Joachim makes a very good point though. Your pound goes further with used equipment. If a used ed82 had come up within budget when I was looking i might have been tempted to go down that route.

Rich

Going to show my ignorance here. Alpha glass?