• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sigma 150 - 500 on Canon 450D (1 Viewer)

Geoff Haynes

Hello, Has anyone on the forum used the 150-500 with the Canon 450D ?
I have just purchased the sigma to go with my 450D but have not had a chance to try it out yet.
I am looking for advice on camera settings please , I am relatively new to digital SLR cameras , so i am still learning!
Any photo's taken would be nice with the camera settings shown.
Whould i be better to use this setup on a monopod ? Any info much appreciated.

Thanks , Geoff.

Hello, Has anyone on the forum used the 150-500 with the Canon 450D ?
I have just purchased the sigma to go with my 450D but have not had a chance to try it out yet.
I am looking for advice on camera settings please , I am relatively new to digital SLR cameras , so i am still learning!
Any photo's taken would be nice with the camera settings shown.
Whould i be better to use this setup on a monopod ? Any info much appreciated.

Thanks , Geoff.
Hi Geoff,
Either a tripod or monopod will help and I think you switch the anti shake off when fitted to tripods etc.
Cheers
Brian

If shooting from a reserve hide,then a beanbag works well same principal shooting from a car too.

Steve.

Hi Geoff,

I haven't got a 450D but a few settings generally used are -

AV mode, set to f8 and leave it there as this will give the best sharpness.
ISO 400
AI Servo
Low speed Continuous shooting
Partial Metering
Centre Point AF
Standard Picture Style
Daylight White Balance