• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

small, rugged cheap and good (1 Viewer)

maxl

I am new to binoculars so start from basics. I did some searching on this forum, but apparently no one was looking for something with the same criteria - most are satisfied with just two out of the four :)

I know I want too much, so I am ready to compromise in one or more areas. So here is what I need - I need binoculars for hiking (rather extreme). So I want something rugged. Not sure if waterproof is a must, but the camera I take with me has dust/splash proof lenses and they survived only 3 years - full of dust inside now... So probably I need waterproof. Size is not as important as weight - every ounce matters. My absolute limit is probably around 650 grams (1.5 pound), so not necessarily compacts. Another thing I need is wide field of view. Given all this, I want to get the best image quality possible for under $300...

My first thought was Bushnell elite custom compact 7x26 but I believe they are not waterproof...

So I looked further and thought about Bushnell Legend 8x32 - a bit pushing the size and price dimensions and field of view is not that large

Another option I like is excursion ex 8x36 - seems like a perfect combo, but I could not find any good reviews on those...

I considered only Bushnell just because I started on their web site - no particular brand preference here. So what about the options I listed and any other comparable/better options?

Thanks!