• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

From an amateur scope user.... (1 Viewer)

Woo

Amateur but enthusiastic wildlife watcher
I have been using an Optricon for the last 2 years but have been offered a 6month old Zeiss 85 straight diascope for £500. Am I getting a bargain ? How different is using a straight one to an angled one (which Im quite comfortable with) ? I know nothing about Zeiss scopes so also want to know the best camera for digiscoping with a Zeiss 85. Many thanks in anticipation |;|

I have been using an Optricon for the last 2 years but have been offered a 6month old Zeiss 85 straight diascope for £500. Am I getting a bargain ? How different is using a straight one to an angled one (which Im quite comfortable with) ? I know nothing about Zeiss scopes so also want to know the best camera for digiscoping with a Zeiss 85. Many thanks in anticipation |;|

£500 for a 6month old Zeiss 85 is crazy! If it's a real offer check it's not damaged or not stolen goods. As far as which is the best camera I don't think anyone can give a definitive answer. Do you intend using an adapter? My mate and I both have angled Zeiss 85's and digiscope simply by holding the camera to the lens. Both our camera's are not cutting edge but I doubt we get results any worse than anyone else. It's a matter seeing what's on offer and seeing if you can get it to work for you really.

been offered a 6month old Zeiss 85 straight diascope for £500. Am I getting a bargain ?

How different is using a straight one to an angled one