• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is this a Red-crested Pochard? (1 Viewer)

Blackstart

Saxophonus pinus
Hi all-

A friend sent me this pic and asked me if this is indeed a Red-crested Pochard.

To me it looks like some kind of hybrid, but I am not an expert, and I'm hoping there's someone who can help me with this ID.

Thanks a lot for your help.

-Adam

Attachments

• Pochard.jpg
    Pochard.jpg
    20.5 KB · Views: 496
I'm not an expert on hybrids, but what I will say is this is definitely not a "pure" R C pochard. The bill color suggests RCP, but the back end reminds me of tufted duck.

I'll now wait for my view to be "blown apart" by a real expert ;)

Yeh, Tufted X Red-crested? (I just found the page of duck hybrids in Mullarney et. al.-- now I see how you guys can jump on these postings....)

Its not Red-crested. I've seen birds like this in collections. I thought it might be a Rosybill, but its not. Just off to make sure its not a full species....

This is a Red-crested Pochard after it has been on the Island of Dr Moreau for a while. I won't hazard a guess at its other ancestor.

And Charles, shouldn't that be "Svensson et al." Let's give the Swedes some credit!

E

Looks most like Rosybill (Netta peposaca, a relative of Red-crested Pochard from South America) to me; probably a subadult male, as adult males have a knob on the base of the bill. But I wouldn't want to rule out a hybrid either.

Edward said:
And Charles, shouldn't that be "Svensson et al." Let's give the Swedes some credit!
Hi Edward,