• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Kowa 12 x 50 SV (1 Viewer)

Wighttrash

Good evening to the good people of bird forum. I am a newb on the forum but feel compelled to share some info on the Kowa 12 x 50 SV bins.
I originally struggled to find much info/reviews on 12 x 50's in general and I decided on the SV 's due mostly to cost.
Now if you are expecting a complex review on all the specs etc ( I regularly have to google the terms used in bin reviews!) then stop reading now.;) this is just a users review mixed with my opinions, which may have some use!
I would class myself as a novice birdwatcher, I have had an interest since childhood, which has bloomed into a full on obsession.! I like to do my birdwatching in varied locations and go for long walks that I know I might spot certain species. I learned pretty quick that for most of my birdwatching, lugging around a scope as well as my original bins became pretty tiresome. This lead me down the path to 12 x 50 s which I think gives the best of both world for me. After purchasing the kowa,s I soon stopped carrying my scope everywhere and eventually sold it. It's a decision I have yet to regret!