• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

getting birds to visit my garden (1 Viewer)

adee_ree

Hi,I am by no means an expert on birds,but do have a considerable interest in them.However,since moving to to a town house with a 'yard' in Torquay from a house in Portsmouth with a large(ish) garden,I am so badly missing having ANY kinds of birds in my backyard,except herring gulls(which aren't quite what I was thinking of!!!). I was hoping that some of you guys with far more experience than I,could give me some pointers in what I could do to get even some sparrows here.
The main issue is that I have a quite high wall at the back and the floor of my garden is approx 6 feet below the ground level outside,which,obviously, makes the wall seem high.At present I have no shrubs or trees in here,but neither do any of my immediate neighbours.I will plant some if it is going to be beneficial,but due to my surroundings I'm thinking I could be fighting a losing battle.
I could sort out some pics if needed,but from my somewhat vague description,is there anything I could be doing.
Oh,I have seen a couple of wrens out at the front garden and the (very) occasional blackbird(my favorite),but these did seem to be passing through.
If anyone could help,I'd be immensely grateful.

If shade is an issue (assuming as much...being 6' below street level), shade tolerant plants eg Ivy,Laurel and Holly...along with peanut feeders might be a good starting point?

Cheers

Hello adee_ree and a warm welcome to Birdforum on behalf of staff and moderators.:t: