• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

newbie - which ones?? (1 Viewer)

Rosey78

Hi All,

I'm new to Bins, I'm looking to buy however I'm now at the stage where I've done too much research and confused myself!

I've decided to ask the experts for their for recommendations....

I have a budget of up to £1000, but will spend less if I can get a good pair that will last.

Thanks in advance!

Hello Rosey,

Welcome to the forum.

Have you used binoculars quite a bit or is this your first pair? It's going to help us quite a bit if you can an you give us any idea what works for you. Size, weight, magnification, objective diameter , glasses friendly, and details like that. Have you tried any near the top of your price range? What did you like and dislike?

Cheers,

David

Welcome to Birdforum Rosey. The subject of which binoculars to buy is a very personal thing. People will swear that 8 x 30 / 32 /42, roof / porroprism, alpha / non-alpha are the only ones you should buy. Others will only consider certain manufacturers, and vehemently oppose anyone who disagrees. As it will be you, and your eyes that'll be using them I would recommend you try as many makes / formats as you can, including explaining to other birdwatchers your 'dilemma' and asking if you can have a quick look through theirs. If the view is what you require, and they feel comfortable to your eyes and hands then, go for them regardless of what others say ( and enjoy using them ). :t: