• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Close-focusing alpha field glasses (1 Viewer)

Dr Owl

Dude ... and proud of it
Hello everyone,

May I introduce myself; defend (or at least explain) my use of “alpha” field glasses; and ask some questions about using field glasses for both birds and butterflies.

I’m a retired mathematician and amateur musician who goes (not nearly often enough) onto the Downs of Hampshire and into the New Forest, usually taking either a camera (I’m something of a Nikon geek who has recently started using a Leica) or field glasses for wildlife observation and (inexpert) birding and butterflying.

In the late 1990s, our children started graduating from university, and good optics started being affordable. The Pussycat and I bought a modest pair of Nikon 10x50 porroprism glasses. Then I made my mistake. At an RSPB gig, I looked through a pair of glasses that cost about 3x the price of the Nikons ... and they were much sharper, clearer and more comfortable. Then, at a photographic trade show, I looked through Nikon EDG and Leica glasses that cost about 5x the price of the porroprism Nikons ... and they were noticeably clearer and more comfortable still!

This was very much a case of diminishing returns. The first £N on the porroprism Nikons made distant objects visible. The extra £2N on the RSPB glasses did not give images that were 3x as good, but they were definitely sharper. The further £2N on the alphas gave the smallest improvement: greater clarity and comfort, but not, I think, significantly greater sharpness.