• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tips on garden shots (1 Viewer)

ghocking

First hope I am in the right forum.
Would appricate any tips you could pass on to photographing birds in the garden.
I am new to bird watching but not to photography. I have had bird feeders in my garden for a long time and get a fairly wide range on birds. My two cats sit and watch them through the window all day without the birds worrying (I don't let the cats out), but whenever I walk into the room however carefully most of the birds see me and fly off, its not a big garden and I do not really want to take the shots through the window (but through open window). Is it just patence setting up and waiting?
Equipment:
Canon EOS 20D
Canon EOS 350D
EF 28-135 IS
EF 75-300 IS
EFS 10-22
and just bought EF 100-400 L IS mainly for wildlife.
Thanks for any tips.

Hi ghocking. Patience, patience and more patience! You'll also find that the birds get used to you in the garden, and if you hang around long enough, they will come to the feeder whilst you are standing pretty close.

Another idea is to have a birdbath, some great photo opportunities there too.

You could always try getting some mealworms from the petshop, and placing a few in a dish. Lots of photographic opportunity there. Here's a link to a current thread about mealworms: http://www.birdforum.net/showthread.php?t=32523

Here's a pic of the songthrush taking the worms in my garden.

Attachments

• Songthrushthumbnail.jpg
    Songthrushthumbnail.jpg
    95.5 KB · Views: 216