• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Absolute beginner to birds and scopes: basic questions (1 Viewer)

George Edwards

Nom de plume
Hi, more than likely these questions are answered elsewhere. Apologies if they are I haven't read all the posts but I couldn't find anything basic enough in the titles. Just skip this thread if I'm the 100th newbie to ask the same questions!

I know absolutely nothing about birds and scopes! Though I'm hoping to learn. (I'm still waiting for my first bird book (Collins) from Amazon). I know a fair amount about traditional SLR photography.

As I understand it, digiscoping is using a digital camera (probably with or without the camera's own lens, and using an adapter) to take pictures though a scope. Tripods are presumably necessary for all long lenses, with or without cameras.

My questions are:

1. What is a scope (I know it's a telephoto lens of some sort)?
Is it the modern name for telescopes?
What is the difference between "birding scopes" and other scopes? Is it minimum focusing distance or brightness?

2. What is the advantage of taking a picture using a scope over just using a ready-made telephoto lens?
Is it because birders already have scopes which they can now use with cameras (thus saving the cost (and weight) of an expensive lens specially for the camera)?
Is it because scopes are better in some way or cheaper than similar power telephoto camera lenses? Or more powerful perhaps?