• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

UK/Raptor ID please (1 Viewer)

Are you even sure this is a raptor? If you have any additional info, please state up front

Niels

If I had any more information I wouldn't be asking and I would have posted it.

If you look top left it has a yellow eye ring and what looks like a hooked beak to me, I don't know if that classifies it as a raptor... I'm fairly new at this and it isn't my photo.

Considering I can't see any 'hood' or 'chest barring' but appears to have a grey head and grey wings, yellow eye ring and hooked beak, and vertical 'diamond specks' on the breast and it's sat in a hawthorn bush/tree with ripe berries and green leaves, which is all in the photo, not a lot I can add. Sorry. The sun appears to be out.

Beak and eye, visible behind leaves top left are pretty raptor-like. I can't make it into any UK breeder though. Yellow iris so not a falcon. General look superficially quite accipiter-like, but plumage (white belly and weak blotching on breast) excludes sparrowhawk and gos. Is that a grey leg, lower centre, near a very red cherry? Possibly an escaped falconry bird? Zoo escape? Don't know enough non-UK raptors to suggest what it is! Or have I ignored something really obvious again?

Crossed with above. Of course its a hawthorn, so the bird is quite small. Still don't know what it is. Not a Honey. Don't think male Sparrowhawk either, although about the right size and dorsal colour right. Too much plain white on the belly, no barring visible, so not typical Sparrowhawk. Perhaps its an atypical one.

Last edited: