• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zeiss Conquest 10 x 30 (1 Viewer)

pix

I'm an advanced beginner birdwatcher, senior in age, slight in stature and blind as a bat. After lurking in the Birdforum for a while I realize that you all know a lot more than me about binoculars and I could use some help.
For the last few years I've used some Pentax 8 x 32 DCF WPs but would like to go to a 10 in something. Considered the Nikon Monarch 10 x 42 but didn't like them. Also tried the Minox 10 x 42 BD ALT BR which seemed ok.
I'm curious about the Conquest 10 x 30s as they are available at a great price.
They are brighter and sharper than the Pentax and they feel good in my hands. I realize there are twilight and field of view issues. My husband points out that with my vision, I wouldn't see anything at twilight no matter the quality of the bins - he's also an accountant and the thought of $1000+ binoculars might make me a widow (I'd rather keep him alive). I looked at the 10 x 40s but they are close to that $1000 mark while the 30s are under $400.

So, if not the Conquest 10 x 30s, what else should I look at?

pix said:
I'm an advanced beginner birdwatcher, senior in age, slight in stature and blind as a bat. After lurking in the Birdforum for a while I realize that you all know a lot more than me about binoculars and I could use some help.
For the last few years I've used some Pentax 8 x 32 DCF WPs but would like to go to a 10 in something. Considered the Nikon Monarch 10 x 42 but didn't like them. Also tried the Minox 10 x 42 BD ALT BR which seemed ok.