• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Turnstones (1 Viewer)

DSpeight

Buzzard Enthusiast
Not exactly rarities, but I saw two immature Turnstone among 6 Redshank at South Shore, Flamborough last Saurday, (14th August). I'm no expert, but I would have thought they were quite unusual for this time of year?

David S

Quite a large number of Turnstones, many still in summer plumage, returning last week along the Morayshire coast. About the usual time of year that they return. A nice Purple Sand with them too.

JP

DSpeight said:
Not exactly rarities, but I saw two immature Turnstone among 6 Redshank at South Shore, Flamborough last Saurday, (14th August). I'm no expert, but I would have thought they were quite unusual for this time of year?

David S
They are lovely birds, aren't they? I would have thought they were quite common this time of year - I'm not at all sure, but don't the youngsters precede the adults on their way south? We saw lots of them when we were up in Northumberland the other week.

Hi Steve

Of course you are correct. There a loads of Turnstones on the Northumberland coast right now. I tend to take these birds for granted I'm afraid but thought a small number stayed with us all summer, be they non breeders. I also thought they bred in Northern Scotland on occaisions. Perhaps someone needs to put me right on that.

Cheers Brian

I don't know the answer, either, Brian - but I have sen them in summer in Wales, too, so maybe a few do breed in the UK?