• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sketching birds from life (1 Viewer)

CCRII

Hello,

I can draw really well from reference (Photographs/still subjects). However I really struggle with moving birds. I know I should be drawing from life and from memory. Is it possible to learn this or should I just realize that I am not a true artist? My biggest problem is freezing a pose of a moving bird inside my minds eye. When I look into my minds eye (memory if you will), I see fuzzy images that do not stay long enough for me to draw from. Is there any advice you can offer? Its a real road block with me.

Should I just be trying (even if I fail miserably) to keep "seeing" the subject for as long as I can and trying to get enough down on paper from a particular pose even if it is only 10% of the real life details of the subject? Does this make sense?

I think we all struggle with this -- the human brain is not a very good camera. I've been sketching from life for years, and I still find it immensely challenging (but then, that's why I like it so much!)

With moving birds, you'll never get everything you see down all at the same time. There are a few strategies you can employ to get around this. One is to keep several sketches going at once -- most birds will keep falling into the same poses as they move about, and you can slowly build up each sketch with each new bit as you observe.

Another is to quickly jot down a sense of the bird's overall pose using very few lines and shapes, which you can then flesh out from memory or additional observation.