• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ultimate Tripod and Head for birding, birding, birding ... & digiscoping (1 Viewer)

Dune Lark

As a very keen birder and an advanced amateur photographer I am looking to find the best possible combination, first and foremost for birding and secondly for reasonable digiscoping stability (digiscoping is something I have no experience with, but would like to try). Removing cost as a consideration the following factors need to be optimised: weight, stability, ease of use in the field. The scope I've chosen is the current Swarovski ATS 80 HD. I use Canon DSLR's and lenses (not much L class glass yet, but slowly upgrading). I am 1,75m tall.

I would be very appreciative of your thoughts on the following:

Is the Gitzo G1325/1329 too heavy for general birding use?
Is the Gitzo G2380 head the best trade-off between weight, stability and in-the-field birding use or are there better options?

Any other suggested combinations. Obviously birding comes first, but I don't want to regret my choice later if digiscoping becomes an enjoyable hobby. Stability may therefore weigh slightly heavier than the weight consideration.

The tripod would occasionally be used for a camera, but essentially it would be for the scope.

Keen to hear from those with experience.

Best regards,
Dune Lark

Dune Lark said:
Is the Gitzo G1325/1329 too heavy for general birding use?