• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Wood Tripod (1 Viewer)

tc99mman

Hello Everyone,

I Am Looking For A High Quality Wooden Tripod For A "reasonable" Price For Telephotography, Digiscoping, Birding, Stargazing, With Various Telescopes, Giant Binoculars, And Camera Lens Combinations.
I Will Consider Used Equipment Or Being Directed To Some Retail/wholesale Vendor.

Thanks,

Tc99mman

Why on earth do you want a wooden one? No offence to you, but aluminium tripods are far and away superior, they're lighter and less cumbersome for starters!

I have no experience of using birding or astronomical scopes, but excessive experience using quite big medium format cameras.

A wooden tripod is often lighter than an equally rigid aluminum tripod, wood also dampens vibrations better than aluminum and are nice to hold in cold weather.

Carbon fiber tripods have the same properties, maybe they are a little more like aluminum to hold. They are also often more expensive.

May I introduce tripods from a little Swedish company that makes their tripods from Oak wood. I have no personal connection with the company, but I use one of their tripods and find it to be very good in practical usage.

Take a look at: http://www.stabil.nu/english/index.html

There are tripods with two or three leg sections, I own the short version of the Stabil Speed (with two leg sections) and use it with quite heavy medium format cameras with very small vibration problems that almost always were present with my Manfrotto 055 aluminum tripod.